18. July
at 20.30
Ljubljanska stolnica (Ljubljana Cathedral) - Ljubljana


Gregor Kovačič, conductor
Martin Belič, flute solo

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), Toccata & Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565

Joaquin Rodrigo (1901-1999), Fantasia Para Un Gentilhombre (arr. for flute solo)

Richard Strauss (1864-1949), The Bourgeois Gentleman, Op.60

Already during his master’s studies, respected conductor Gregor Kovačič assisted Prof. Jan Cober in working with the European Union Youth Wind Orchestra and the University Orchestra Maastricht-Tilburg. He went on to conduct famous orchestras, such as the Prague Philharmonia and led professional orchestras in Luxembourg, Germany, Croatia, and Slovenia. He conducted the renowned Royal Symphonic Band of the Belgian Guides and cooperated with the Koninklijke Harmonie Sainte Cécile Eijsden and the Simón Bolívar Symphony Band. He led the JSO Symphony Orchestra and regularly appears as a guest conductor of the distinguished Slovenian Police Orchestra. In the 2024/2025 season, he will conduct the celebrated Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra.
He is the regular principal conductor of the Salzburg Wind Orchestra, the Wind Orchestra of Ironworkers Ravne, and the Wind Orchestra Laibach. He regularly conducts at prominent European festivals such as the Salzburg Festival, Festival Lent, Festival Ljubljana, Innsbruck Promenade Concerts, and Imago Sloveniae. He has won several prizes at national and international competitions.

Martin Belič  is a multiple international award winner and recepient of the Dr. Roman Klasinc plaque for exceptional musical achievementsas well as overall winner of the international “Intermusica Birkfeld 2009” and Theobald Böhm competitions in 2011 in Munich (Germany). He has later served as member and jury president at the selfsame Theobald Böhm competition for several years. He regularly performs with the Bavarian Opera Orchestra, the Cologne Radio Orchestra (Germany), the Wind Orchestra of the Mozarteum University Salzburg, the Munich Salon Orchestra Tibor Jonas, Bavaria Classic – Residenz Solisten, the Munich Bach Orchestra, and as a solo flutist with the Württemberg Chamber Orchestra and the Munich Radio Orchestra. As music critic Marijan Zlobec wrote: “Martin Belič continues the great tradition of Slovenian concert flutists of the last half-century – from Boris Čampa and Irena Grafenauer to the present – and is one of the representatives of the world concert flute.”

The Salzburger Landesblasorchester (State Wind Orchestra Salzburg, SLBO) was founded in 2000. As a testament to the orchestra’s quality, even their inaugural performances took place at the renowned Salzburg Orchestra House. On October 6, 2000, the approximately 65-member ensemble performed in the Great Hall of the Mozarteum with Steven Mead on euphonium solo.
The result of a successful collaboration between the Salzburg Wind Music Association, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, the Salzburg Military Music, and the Musikum Salzburg, the orchestra aims to showcase the vast musical possibilities of wind music while inspiring foundational musical work, performing symphonic wind music at the highest level, with a special focus on contemporary wind orchestra literature.
For concert projects, the orchestra regularly invites nationally and internationally renowned guest conductors, such as Alex Schillings (Netherlands), Ralf Kircher (Austria/Finland), Martin A. Fuchsberger (Austria), Cynthia Johnston Turner (USA), the internationally acclaimed Salzburg star conductor and Grammy winner Hans Graf, and many others. The orchestra has also repeatedly featured outstanding solo artists such as Matthias Schorn (Vienna Philharmonic), Johannes Moritz, Wilhelm Schwaiger, Josef Steinböck, Ferdinand Steiner, Christian Winter, Frank Stadler, Florian Simma, Bernhard Mitmesser (all from the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg), Robert Childs (UK), Allen Vizzutti (USA), Christoph Sietzen (Austria), Monika Ballwein, and Anna Buchegger.

The orchestra’s Ljubljana concert directly precedes their appearance at the internationally acclaimed Salzburger Festspiele festival.

Admission free.

In collaboration with:

© IMAGO SLOVENIAE 2024. Vse pravice pridržane
Izdelava spletne strani: Pozitiven Design, Oblikovanje: LUKS Studio