28. August
at 18.00
Bela dvorana Gradu Rače – Rače

DIALOGUE OF CULTURE AND TIME (Slovenia/Switzerland/Germany)

Klara Tomljanovič, guitar


Tomaz Bajželj (1979), Surreal
Steingrimur Rohloff (1971), Positive


Márton Illés (1975), Psychogramm VII.
Alberto Carretero (1985), Phórminx

For our world-renowned contemporary music performer, the guitarist Klara Tomljanovič, we have commissioned 4 new works by composers Márton Illés (Hungary), Tomaž Bajželj (Slovenia), Alberto Carretero (Spain), and Steingrimurg Rohloff (Denmark), which will be premiered as part of our new international project, The Dialogue of Culture and Time. The programme promises a beautiful blend of modern novelties and established works of the past.

Klara Tomljanovič is a Basel-based Slovenian guitarist and a globally recognized performer of contemporary music. She studied with Sonja Prunnbauer in Freiburg and Oscar Ghiglia in Basel. While still a student, she started performing with Aleph Guitar Quartet, which quickly amassed international critical acclaim thanks to their intensive new music work and numerous performances at various festivals of contemporary music in Europe and Asia. Tomljanovič has been hosted by many musical series and festivals in Germany, e.g. Musik Eclat in Stuttgart, the Berlin-based Maerzmusik, Musica viva in München, Internationale Weingartener Tage für Neue Musik and Hamburger Klangwerktage, as well as festivals in other countries: Warsaw Autumn in Poland, Archipel in Switzerland, Pan Festival in Seoul in South Korea, Villa Massimo in Italy and Teatre Metropol in Tarragona, Spain. Moreover, she collaborates with various noted ensembles (Ensemble Mosaik, Ensemble Experimental), orchestras (Southwest German Radio Symphony Orchestra SWR, the Slovenian Philharmonic and the Slovenian Radio and Television Orchestra) and has also worked with a number of soloists: Teodoro Anzellotti, Ernesto Molinari, Isao Nakamura, Petra Hoffmann, Renate Greiss-Armin, Miguel Àngel Marín, Uroš Rojko … While Tomljanovič dedicates herself completely to interpretations of new music on both emotional and intellectual level, she remains faithful to her classical guitar repertoire, especially that of the early 20th century.

Márton Illés was born in 1975 in Budapest. He studied composition with Detlev Müller-Siemens and piano with László Gyimesi at the Academy of Music in Basel, then composition with Wolfgang Rihm and music theory with Michael Reudenbach at the University of Music in Karlsruhe. He has won numerous awards, including a scholarship from the Deutsche Akademie Villa Massimo in Rome, Villa Concordia Bamberg, the New York branch of the Civitella Ranieri Foundation and Studio for Experimental Electronic Music in Freiburg in 2007. He is the recipient of the Christoph and Stephan Kaske Foundation Award, the Ernst von Siemens Foundation Composer Award (Germany 2008), the SWR Symphony Orchestra Award (Donaueschingen Music Festival 2017) and an artists’ residence at the Cité des Arts in Paris in 2021.

Tomaž Bajželj, born in 1979 in Kranj, studied composition and music education at the Academy of Music in Ljubljana. He enrolled in postgraduate studies and later a master’s degree at the Carl Maria von Weber College of Music in Dresden. His works have been performed at various festivals throughout Europe. He has collaborated with renowned Slovenian and European chamber musicians and the RTV Ljubljana Symphony Orchestra. He lives in Berlin as a freelance artist.

Alberto Carretero is a Spanish composer born in Seville in 1985. He is the recipient of international prizes such as the INJUVE Composition Award, the Flashback Ensemble, the SGAE Orchestra and the Cajamadrid Award, as well as the prestigious Real Maestranza, bestowed on him by the King of Spain. His doctoral thesis on bio-inspired composition with artificial intelligence techniques won him a prize for outstanding dissertation.

Steingrimur Rohloff is one of the most prominent young Scandinavian composers, his works having been performed in more than 25 countries around the world. He studied in Cologne with Krzysztof Meyer, at the Conservatoire national superieur and IRCAM in Paris with Gérard Grisey, Laurent Cuniot and Marc-André Dalbavie. Among Rohloff’s many awards, there is the prestigious Bernd-Alois Zimmermann Award, which he won during his stay in Cologne. His opus ranges from orchestral and chamber to electronic music. In recent years, Rohloff has also produced a number of stage works. His first musical theatrical work was the children’s opera “The Story of a Mother”, for which he received the Reumert Award, the most significant Danish theatre recognition. He regularly collaborates with the world-famous Modern ensemble and various festivals such as Wien Modern and Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival.

Admission is 6,00 €.

In collaboration with

Funded by

© IMAGO SLOVENIAE 2023. Vse pravice pridržane
Izdelava spletne strani: Pozitiven Design, Oblikovanje: LUKS Studio